You have a rainbow in your soul, and it’s kind of a big deal. If you call yourself a spa person but are not yet acquainted with your Chakras, we’ve created this 101 guide just for you. Why is this important? According to Chakra theory, your emotional, physical, spiritual and mental issues can ALL be nurtured by way of your 7 primary Chakras, your body’s energy centers. From intimacy issues to varicose veins, many spa treatments are designed to tap into these problems by balancing the energy in your Chakras, and there are many things YOU can do at home to address these issues as well. It’s quite fascinating! Ready? Read on… and feel the energy.

What are Chakras? There are seven major energy centers in your body called “chakras.” Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” – they are both spinning vortexes of energy. They are centers of force located within our etheric body, through which we receive, transmit, and process life energies. Each has a corresponding relationship to one of the various glands of the body’s endocrine system, as well as to one of the seven colors of the rainbow spectrum.

ROOT CHAKRA | In Sanskrit: Muladhara

Located at the base of the spine, the Root Chakra represents our foundation, survival, and the feeling of being grounded. It deals with tasks related to the material and physical world, and your own security. Emotional issues include insecurity with money and food. Imbalances associated with your Muladhara are anemia, fatigue, lower back pain, sciatica, depression, and frequent cold hands and feet. To stimulate your Root Chakra, try physical exercise and long, restful sleeps, gardening, pottery, and clay. Red gemstones, clothing, food, and red oils such as Sandalwood all stimulate this Chakra of inherent right to existence.

SPLEEN CHAKRA | In Sanskrit: Svadisthana

Located just below the navel on the lower abdomen, the Spleen Chakra is all about feelings. It’s connected to sensing abilities, intimacy, social-ability, openness to new experiences, and your sex organs. Physically, the Svadisthana governs reproduction, mentally it governs creativity, emotionally it governs joy, and spiritually it governs enthusiasm. Emotional issues include pleasure, sexuality and sense of abundance, and imbalances associated with the Spleen Chakra are eating disorders, drug and alcohol abuse, relationship problems, depression, lower back pain, asthma, allergies, urinary problems, yeast infections and impotency. It can be stimulated with hot aromatic baths, water aerobics, massage, tantra, embracing, and even tasting a variety of different foods.

SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA | In Sanskrit: Manipura

Located above the naval on the stomach, the Solar Plexus Chakra embodies personal power, self-confidence, and ego; the ability to have self-control and humor.  Physically, Manipura governs digestion, mentally it governs personal power, emotionally it governs expansiveness, and spiritually, all matters of growth. Key imbalances associated with this Chakra are issues of fear, anxiety, poor memory, and low self-confidence, and can also relate to digestive problems, ulcers and diabetes. Yellow colored food and grains like granola can help stimulate the Solar Plexus Chakra.

HEART CHAKRA | In Sanskrit: Anahata

Located in the center of your chest, the Heart Chakra is your ability to love. Forgiveness, compassion, the ability to have self-control and accept yourself for YOU are all part of the Heart Chakra. Emotional issues are love, joy. devotion, tenderness and peace; imbalances are heart and breathing disorder, chest pain, high blood pressure, passivity, immunity issues and muscular tension. To stimulate the Anahata, try nature walks, spending time with family or friends, and drinking green food and drinks, and green oils such as eucalyptus or pine essential oils.

THROAT CHAKRA | In Sanskrit: Visuddha

Located in the throat region, the Throat Chakra governs ability to communicate, your right to speak, truthful expression of your thoughts and beliefs, and the ability to trust and be loyal. Emotionally it governs independence, mentally it governs fluent thought, and spiritually, it governs a sense of security. Emotional issues concern communication, expressing yourself and telling the truth, while imbalances rand from thyroid problems, swollen glands, fevers, infections, mouth/tongue/neck/jaw problems, PMS, bloating, menopause and the flu. To stimulate the Visuddha, try singing in the shower, poetry, stamp or art collection, and engaging in meaningful conversations, blue gemstones and clothing, and blue oils such as chamomile.


Located on the forehead in the space in between your eyes, the Third Eye Chakra represents intuition, insights, your psychic abilities, and self-realization. It also has the power to release repressed negative thoughts. Emotional issues are intuition, imagination, wisdom, the ability to make decisions, and imbalances range from learning disabilities and coordination problems to sleep disorders. To stimulate your Anja, try stargazing, mediation, and indigo oils such as patchouli.

Crown Chakra | In Sanskrit: Sahasrara

Located at the top of the head, the Crown Chakra represents knowingness, aspiration, dedication to the divine consciousness and trusting the universe. Our connection to a higher power is located here as well. Some of the imbalances associated with the Sahasrara are headaches, senesitivity to light, mental illness, coordination problems, varicose veins and skin rashes. This high-altitude Chakra can be stimulated by focusing on dreams, writing down visions and inventions, and using oils such as lavender or jasmine.

Okay… GOT IT?? Maybe you need to study up a little more, but luckily we’re not going to quiz you on it. However, I do encourage you to try a spa treatment that taps into your 7 chakras, such as any Ayurvedic treatments (like today’s massage/foot treatment deal on TheRightDeal) and like the Chakra Balancing Massage at Canyon Ranch. Questions? Thoughts? Have you had a Chakra-balancing experience? Share below!

Photo and information sources:, MindBodyGreen, ReikiSource and good old Wiki